Five Favourite shots of 2013 ~ No 2 Dragonflies

Well after my five favourite butterfly shots, I thought I would do five favourite dragonflies. It is really quite hard to choose five….after my butterfly post, I found a whole heap that I had forgotten about so there may have to be a version 2 yet 😉

 

Broad Bodied Chaser

This broad bodied Chaser was taken in the Wyre Forest.

This demoiselle was from a forage into Dudmaston woods whilst looking for White Admirals but, I loved the way she was watching me!

Banded Demoiselle

This was my favourite in-flight shot of the year from the Severn Valley

Flight of the Hawker

After many, many attempts, I finally got some half decent shots of Eastern Spreadwings in Greece. They seem to prefer quite shady spots which makes it difficult to get the light for a macro.

Eastern Spreadwing

Also in Greece, earlier in the year, I did get some very close encounters with Goldenrings. In fact some days, I was getting so close I could only see their eyes but, this one shows it all in its glory. They are very beautiful…..I have wonderful memories of them flying up and down the streams even if summer seems a little distant now!

CMS_2508-1

Although, I have many more to cover the last 12 months, this will probably be my last post before Christmas. So, have a wonderful time everyone.

Author: Chrissy Marie

Artist & Photographer from the UK

4 thoughts on “Five Favourite shots of 2013 ~ No 2 Dragonflies”

  1. This is a beautiful blog Chrissy…and the photography is marvellous! I have neglected you over the last months (years) and I’m sorry for that. I’m trying to return to blogging after such a long time.and this visit and the stunning Dragonflies does a lot to motivate me to start again. It’s good to see your blog, after clicking down my blogroll and finding so many empty houses and domain sales.

    Love

    Henry

Leave a comment